After Almost Four Months!?

Yes, indeed. Four months, and nothing to show for it on my partially neglected blog.

I have not been idle in that time though. I have actually finished a few kits and embarked on some additional endeavors related to my modeling activities.

As I outlined in my January post, I have started my Plastic Models For Beginners series on my YouTube channel. Thus far, it seems to be quite successful. I have recently hit 500 subscribers, and I think that has to do in large part with my beginners series. There has been quite a bit of positive feedback and at least one subscriber has purchased the same kit that I used in the first series, the old Tamiya Panzer II kit in 1/35 scale, and is using the videos as a build along kind of thing. Also, the videos seem to be helping others get into the hobby, and even improve on what they are already doing. This makes me quite stoked. Showing videos of my work just to show it is alright, but to actually offer something useful is what I am after.

I am currently in the midst of the second kit right now and am posting the videos as I go. The current kit is Tamiya’s old mold of the SdKfz 222 Armored Car in 1/35 scale. This kit is slightly more complex than the Panzer II was, and also offers the additional challenges of a metal barrel and a couple of photo-etch parts that are included with the current release.

As for non-beginner related builds, I recently finished the Eduard Messerschmitt Bf109E-4 PROFIPack Edition in 1/48 scale. As you have probably gleaned from my usual subject matter, I am not much of an aircraft modeler… that is, up until now. I have discovered the one ingredient that always held me back from aircraft, but I will talk about that in a future post. I finished this plane in the markings of Franz Von Werra. I find his story to be quite interesting which is why I went with this scheme. I am so inspired, in fact, I have dusted off the Revell Bf109G-10 Erla in 1/32 scale I started a long time ago, so I can finish it!

So, that is it for now, and I will leave you with some parting shots of the Eduard kit. Stay tuned for more updates…

2 thoughts on “After Almost Four Months!?

  1. Thanks. I have always been interested in WWII planes, but could never quite pull them off. Although there is always room for improvement, I actually enjoyed this one and am pretty pleased with the way it turned out.

Leave a Reply

