A Halftrack of A Different Color

For my next project I will be tackling a subject I have never done before… a German halftrack.

The kit I have chosen is the Tamiya Sdkfz 251/9.

While perusing the interwebs for ideas and research, I found some interesting photos of vehicles of this type. I was quite surprised when I came across this one

It is the same vehicle pictured above, captured by the British and used by them during action in the Netherlands. This photo piqued my interest.

While looking for info on the unit markings, I found out that a booklet and decal set is available pertaining to this and other vehicles captured by the allies during WWII. I did a quick search online and found it.

And here is the vehicle in the booklet

After inspecting the kit contents, I opted to order some aftermarket tracks since the kit tracks are very basic, with no detail on the inner portion that contacts the road wheels. At the suggestion of a few modelers on a Google+ group I am a member of, I ordered a set of the single strip type for the Sdkfz 251 series manufactured by AFV Club.

So, that is the kit and extras. Next time… assembly begins.

Leave a Reply

